Forgot your password?





     site search        

Free Audio Clip

William Golding

Awards: Booker Prize 1980 , Nobel Prize in Literature in 1983

Born: 19/09/1911 in Newguay, England

Died:  19/06/1993 in Perranarworthal, England

Language: English

Nationality: British

William Gerald Golding was a British General, Scientific and Historic fiction writer and essayist and poet. He studied in Oxford University as an Under Graduate taking up natural science for two years before switching to English Literature. In 1934, his first book Poems was published.

 Golding joined Royal Navy in 1940 at the onset of the World War and was involved in the sinking of the German Battleship Bismarck. After war, he returned to teaching and writing. In 1951, Lord of the Flies was published and received warm response. Then followed a series of books. Golding used allusions to literature, mythology and Christian symbolism,Rites of Passage won the Booker. The Scorpion God is a volume of three novellas set in a prehistoric African hunter-gatherer band ('Clonk, Clonk'), an ancient Egyptian court ('The Scorpion God') and the court of a Roman emperor ('Envoy Extraordinary').

 Golding got Nobel Prize in 1983 which was unexpected and contentious as the favorites were Graham Greene and Anthony Burgess.

Major Works: Lord of the Flies(1954), The Inheritors(1955),Pincher Martin(1956), Free Fall(1959), The Spire(1964), The Pyramid(1967), The Scorpion God(1971), Darkness Visible(1979),To The Ends of the Earth (triology) consisting of Rites of Passage(1980), Close Quarters(1987), Fire Down Below(1989).

William Golding

Order William Golding's Books below





Free E-Book

Writer Forum

Blog of the Day

---->  Guest Writer


Literary Quiz

Prize HUB

SE ASIA voice

Call from Africa

Subscribe newsletter

upcoming Poet